The Viceroy Arch
: Old Goa, Panjim, Goa
This was construct by Viceroy Francisco da Gama, the grandson of Vasco
da Gama in 1597. It carries the deer crest of his family. On top of the arch on the side in front of the
Mandovi river is a little statue of Vasco da Gama, fully attired in his royal uniform. The arch is built of
laterite stone with the side facing the river constructed of green granite. The original arch collapsed in 1948 and it was restored in 1954. The restoration omitted the third tier that contained the statue of St Catherine made of bronze that is now in the courtyard of the museum. Inside the archway is an inscription to Vasco
da Gama and also to King Dom Joao iv, the first Portuguese ruler after it was liberated from Spain in 1640.On the back of the archway is a statue of a crowned woman standing on a "native", symbolizing the "Christian victory over paganism". Tradition has it that on taking office, all viceroys made the procession under the arch where they would be given the ceremonial key to the city and
Goa. The road under the arch known as the Rua Direita leads to the main square where most of the monuments exist today.