Captian T.H.Lewin was one of the first Englishmen to come to Mizoram. The District Commissioner of the Chittagong Hills Tracts, who entered Mizoram by way of Demagiri (Tlabung) in 1865, became so popular with the local tribesmen that as a mark of respect, he was called Thangliana which meant 'greatly famous'. He lived with the Mizos for nine years and authored the first Lushai book.
His memorial stone at Demagiri remains as evidence of the extent of his popularity with the Mizos. His memorial stone at Demagiri shows how the Mizos held him in great esteem.